Nixon Fox III


Nick Fox has practiced in the area of corporate and securities law for over 20 years, primarily representing clients engaged in the energy, information technology, life sciences and entertainment industries.  Nick also has a strong background in the taxation of business transactions, having earned a masters in taxation and practicing as a tax lawyer during the first ten years of his career in Austin, Washington D.C., New York and Hong Kong, before settling back in Austin in 1995.  Nick holds a BV Distinguished Rating by Martindale-Hubbell, the premier rating service for lawyers based upon peer review, and has been recognized as one of the top corporate lawyers in Texas by Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business (2005-2012) and Best Lawyers in America, Woodward/White, Inc. (2008-2016).

Nick acts as outside general counsel for a number of privately-held companies, from start-ups to international business ventures, as well as private equity investors, including buyout funds, venture capital funds and angel investors.  Nick helps companies and investors successfully complete a broad array of M&A and private equity transactions, including fund formations, debt and equity financings (from angel investments to leveraged buyouts), mergers and acquisitions, recapitalizations, joint ventures and strategic alliances.  Nick also advises clients on company formation, capital structure, equity incentive plans, executive employment agreements, corporate governance and other general corporate matters.

New York University School of Law, L.L.M. Taxation (1985)

University of Texas School of Law, J.D. with honors (1984)

Southern Methodist University, B.A. magna cum laude (1981)

State Bar of Texas (1984-present)

The District of Columbia Bar (1987-present)

Certified Public Accountant (1987)

Legal Advisory Council: The Entrepreneurs Foundation of Central Texas (2001-2010)

Chairman, 2006 World Congress on Information Technology (2002-2006)

Best Lawyers in America: Corporate Law, Woodward/White, Inc. 2008-present